J’accuse!

11 Mar

I’m in my friends’ apartment watching West Side Story while all of my friends are either in class or… I don’t even know where my [former] roommate just went. Anyway, I noticed a copy of The Papyrus (Greenville College student newspaper) sitting on the floor and picked it up. I skimmed a couple articles and had to pause to write this: a grievance against the king Papyrus.

I used to write for and spend my Wednesday nights with The Papyrus. In fact, I love and miss it. To question the integrity of the Papyrus isn’t easy, especially since I still have some pretty good friends on staff. GC’s a small college and I know reading (sometimes) crappy student articles can be tiresome. I doubt the existence of a perfect student newspaper. Maybe schools like Cal or the Ivy Leagues have closer-to-perfect papers, but I haven’t found one yet. Human error is inevitable.

It’s been about two years since I last wrote for the Papyrus. In those two years, the Pap acquired a new advisor and a new look. I can’t say anything about the advisor since I don’t know her, but I can gripe about the logo. It looks like a pot leaf. There is no way I’m the only person who has picked up the Pap and thought so… I know I’m not the only one. Even if you’ve never smoked pot, you have to know what a marijuana leaf looks like. When there’s a drug bust on the news, there’s usually an image of a doobie and a leaf in the little box by the news anchor’s head. Within the past couple of years, there have been numerous pop culture references to the visage of pot. Shoot, there’s a TV show called WEEDS and it’s about – wait for it- … WEED.

I’m going to let grammar slide since it’s subjective. Punctuation, on the other hand, is pretty concrete. A period occurs at the end of a sentence and some other places, but mainly at the end of a sentence. It also only occurs once at the end of a sentence. For example, the end of this is wrong.. A declarative sentence ALWAYS ends with a period. There are four misused periods in ONE ARTICLE.

Other facts:
Ellipses only have three (3) periods (.).
Apostrophes are for possessives and contractions.
“Inglourious” has a ‘u’ when it appears in the movie title, “Inglourious Basterds.”

Since I’m pretty sure I’m driving my friends crazy with my nitpickiness, I’m stopping here.  I probably should get off their couch & computer anyway.

SEE ALSO: Muphry’s Law

3 Responses to “J’accuse!”

  1. Trevor 03/12/2010 at 12:51 am #

    I meant to write “declarative sentence,” of course.

  2. Trevor 03/12/2010 at 12:47 am #

    Nitpicking! I shall join you!

    There is such a thing as a four-dot ellipsis. It is used when a declarative statement is ended with an ellipsis (three dots plus a period as the closing punctuation). It can be seen featured prominently at the beginning of each Star Wars film.

    • Michelle 03/12/2010 at 1:47 am #

      I agree that there are four-dot ellipses exist as you have described. I just disagree with the usage in the article.

Leave a Reply

