Yarn: Acrylic

18 Jan

I have a lot of yarn… probably not as much as some real knitting (k)nuts out there, but I digress. My stash is mostly -dare I say it? – 100% acrylic worsted-weight yarn… from Walmart. GASP. There isn’t anything fundamentally wrong with acrylic yarn, but it’s definitely not my favorite.

Acrylic yarn has its merits. For one, it’s cheap. Secondly, it’s versatile. When I first started knitting, I used acrylic yarn to make hats and scarves, and I would recommend any beginner to start with the cheap stuff just in case things don’t quite would out between you and yarn. (It’s okay. You and the yarn can still be friends.) Brand is definitely a factor in whether or not acrylic is a desirable yarn.

The one I dislike the greatest is Read Heart® Super Saver®. It’s a hardy yarn, but I prefer not to use it for any form of clothing, e.g. scarves and mittens. So what is it good for? (Absolutely nothing… say it again, y’all!) I have used it for bags and hats. I don’t know if it’s just me, but I’ve found that it gets dry/brittle with time.

However, there are good acrylic yarns. One that I find especially favorable is Caron® Simply Soft®. As its name suggests it’s a very soft yarn. The main problem I have with it is that it has the tendency to fray easily, but it’s still a nice yarn. Nice and cuddly soft… silky soft…

And with that, I’m going to knit me some tasty gloves with Simply Soft®.

K.O.K.O.
Michelle

Leave a Reply

