Obligatory Year-end Post

31 Dec

2009 in music:

The Elms “The Great American Midrange” : I fell in love with The Elms when I was 11 (Summer 2001). With each album, I grow more and more fond of their evolving style. TGAM encapsulates everything I love about The Elms: sweet composition, great lyrics, awesome harmonies, and “singalongability.”
Favorite Tracks: The Good Guys, This is How the World Will End, Thunderhead
Regina Spektor “Far” : Dear Regina, it’s been far too long since your last album. I guess that’s not very fair since it was the same amount of time between The Elms’ last two albums. Anyway, Far is great. A lot of “loyal” Regina fans gave it reviews like, “What happened to Regina Spektor?” and “wahhhh she’s such a sellout.” Y’know what? Artists GROW. And that’s exactly what Regina Spektor showed in Far. A couple reviews said things like, “OMG She’s playing with a band now.” Sure, Soviet Kitsch was simple, but she had a backup band in Begin to Hope and the fact that it was more prominent in Far doesn’t discount her artistic ability.
Favorite Tracks: Eet, Laughing With, Human of the Year, Wallet
Mat Kearney “City Of Black & White” : I have something to admit: I got this album and listened to it in preparation for going to a Mat Kearney concert, and I haven’t really listened to it since. I can recognize it if it popped up on shuffle, but I wouldn’t be able to sing along with it. Overall, I found it to be catchy and I enjoyed hearing it live.
Favorite Tracks: Fire & Rain, New York to California
Company of Thieves “Ordinary Riches” : I downloaded this album because I heard “Oscar Wilde” on WLCA. It’s grown on me since I first listened to it. Other than that I don’t have much to say.
Favorite Tracks: In Passing, Oscar Wilde, Pressure
Brand New “Daisy” : Technically, Ryan bought this and though I enjoy listening to it, I haven’t much.
Favorite Track: At The Bottom
Manchester Orchestra “Mean Everything to Nothing”: Shoot. These guys were great in concert. I’m glad I got to see them with Brand New, but it sucked that Ryan and I had to leave early because there was so much smoke in The Pageant.
Favorite Tracks: The Only One, I’ve Got Friends, 100 Dollars, The River
Glee Vol. 1 & 2: I love the show and I’m so so happy that my sister gifted me Vol. 1.
Favorite Tracks: Take a Bow, Somebody to Love, Defying Gravity, Don’t Stand So Close to Me (Young Girl)
The Swell Season “Strict Joy “: *speechless* Okay, not really. I saw The Swell Season in concert in the beginning of the month and it was great.
Favorite Tracks: Low Rising, Feeling the Pull, In These Arms, The Rain, High Horses, I Have Loved You Wrong, Two Tongues, Somebody Good
Quiet Company “Everyone You Love Will Be Happy Soon” : I just bought this about a week and a half ago and it’s love. Back in high school, I came across The Connotations. Shortly after discovering this awesome, they disbanded. I recently rediscovered Taylor Glen Muse in Quiet Company. Though there are differences from The Connotations, it’s equally (maybe even moreso) aurally pleasing.
Favorite Tracks: My New Year’s Resolution, Golden (Like the State), Well The Truth Is, On Husbands and Wives
Owl City “Ocean Eyes”: I’ve been hearing about Owl City from a couple of my friends for a while now. I’ve listened to him a couple times, but never bought (or torrented) any of the albums. Since I got a gajillion dollars in iTunes gift cards ($45), I finally downloaded Ocean Eyes. I am SO glad I did. It’s been a while since I’ve found enjoyable electronic music.
Favorite Tracks: The Bird and The Worm, Hello Seattle, Fireflies, Tip of the Iceberg, Vanilla Twilight
2009 in movies
I don’t quite care to say anything about the movies, but here’s the list.

Låt den rätte komma in (Let The Right One In)
Frost/Nixon
Coraline in 3-D
Push
Watchmen
X-Men Origins: Wolverine
Terminator Salvation
Star Trek
The Time Traveler’s Wife
District 9
Inglourious Basterds
(500) Days of Summer
Zombieland
The Boondock Saints II: All Saints Day
Avatar
Sherlock Holmes
2009 in classes:
This summer, I reembarked on my journey to a degree.
English I: I took English I in a 6-week summer session. Quite frankly, it was a piece of cake. Sure, it was technically my 3rd time taking it, but this time the conditions were right. I wasn’t on new meds and it wasn’t an online class. Instead, it was a small class — about 10 students — in a condensed time period.
Final Grade: A
Gen Ed Psychology: This was another summer class. There were 4 students including me. Since all 4 of us came from very different backgrounds, there was never a lack of discussions/arguments.
Final Grade: B
Human Sexuality and Reproduction: I loved this class. Even though we didn’t really learn the course material in class, it was always entertaining.
Final Grade: C
English II: I love English. I suppose that explains the whole English major thing. Unlike my last English class, this one required a lot of reading. I’m proud of every single one of the papers I wrote for this class. Okay, that’s a lie. I got a B on an analysis of The Glass Menagerie and I deserved it. This was one of my first 10-page+ papers. I wrote on Ernest Hemingway and it was glorious.
Final Grade: A
Physical Geography: This class was BS and I hated it.
Final Grade: B
World History: I wasn’t looking forward to this class at the start of the semester, but it got better. It was interesting enough and I got B on a paper about Martin Luther and the Reformation.
Final Grade: B
Math: This was an oddly entertaining math class. Meh.
Final Grade: B
2009 in TV
This year I had WAY too much time and I watched many many full seasons (in some cases series) of TV shows.
Firefly: Um… classic. I could watch it right now.
LOST: I had to see what the hype was and I got sucked in.
Lie to Me: I love Tim Roth and case-solving TV shows in general.
House: Ok, I haven’t actually seen full seasons yet, but I’ve been keeping up.
glee: Definitely one of my favorite new shows. It’s like a musical AND television… wait, that is what it is.
Castle: Oh, Nathan Fillion. The end…
Weeds: It’s often questionable, but it’s entertaining.
Coupling: It’s like Friends in Britain, but not.
Doctor Who (twice): I can’t watch this enough. The ends of season 2 and 3 get me every time.
Torchwood: The Doctor Who spinoff. Alien hunting? Awesome.
The IT Crowd: Wonderful geekiness from Britain. I luh me some Irish folk.
I should list “2009 in knitting projects” but I didn’t finished anything monumental.
Knit On Knit Off (not what K.O.K.O. means)
Michelle
3 Responses to “Obligatory Year-end Post”

  1. Emily 01/08/2010 at 9:50 am #

    I love this post as a summary of the year 😀

    I do have to say though that I was terribly disappointed with the way torchwood ended 😦

    • Michelle 01/08/2010 at 9:55 am #

      Agreed. However, I recently finished the David Tennant specials. I enjoyed them, but I’m sad that he’s gone.

  2. Betsye 01/02/2010 at 8:23 pm #

    I liked this post 🙂

Leave a Reply

